7 Comments

Hi Sherisa! I thought I was new to your work, but then I realized that I've been sharing Raising Mothers with my writing group for the past year or so as a place to consider for submitting their work! Reading this post, I found myself nodding along, finding things in common, like being in my 40's with hips that are rebelling against me, being a slow reader (especially when it comes to non-fiction!), being a recovering overachiever, loving yoga but sometimes being a distant lover, being a mom, and of course, this passion we share for writing and creative expression. I look forward to connecting more!

Expand full comment

I just went down a lovely rabbit hole going through some of your work and I also just became a patreon member!!! I am taking my 200 hour yoga teacher training right now and I am confident that I do not want to teach at the end of this. I am open to what I may think at the end (because life has taught me I'm allowed to change my mind!) but I went in knowing I wanted this to deepen my practice and find more about myself than when I started. That feels good. I don't need more than that.

Like you, my ambitions aren't the metrics of our masculine world. Since quitting my corporate world job (thanks to my husband's financial standing, a major privilege) I have been able to shift my goals like you said in these two lines: "My ambitions are more centered on my overall well being rather than financial or societal status. I have to wake up and choose this each day."

Also your thoughts on you and your kids and being a mother. I think I have the same sentiments, if I'm interpreting your words like I think you meant to. I host a podcast on motherhood but I'm starting to think I need the descriptor to be something else because we talk about our lives, and we speak to other fascinating people and their lives and, oh, by the way, they're also mothers.

Looking forward to getting to know you more through your work.

Expand full comment
Apr 4Liked by Sherisa de Groot

Hello everyone! I’m reading and writing this after lying here in bed contemplating where I’m at after sixty years of life, with two adult children who are still trying to find themselves, but unlike their mother was raised to have that autonomy to freely do so, while I’m also wondering if it’s really not too late to make it (life) better for all of us.

Yes my children are adults, but most parents will tell you, and to my dismay, that your relationship with your children’s life doesn’t really become less complicated when they grow up.

I’m an artist working in different mediums, but mostly clay. I’ve been an artist all my life, but I feel I’ve only began “emerging” in the last maybe eight years. This is when my clay sculptures began to garner a little bit of attention. Fortunately and unfortunately this is also happing while I’m unraveling and processing what feels like a lifetime of trauma, including generational. So, I’ve been slow to put myself out there in a way that would possibly boost my career as an artist, well according to some folks opinion. My work can seen in spurts on Instagram @stephanie_spiritualart if you’re curious.

I’m a big believer in spirituality and this is how I live my life, hence the “spiritual art” part. I’ve been experiencing what we call a spiritual awakening for a while now, which also feels like an existential crisis most of the time. But it has given me hope for this world and definitely has helped my personal growth.

And that’s a bit about myself. Thank you for this opportunity!

Expand full comment
Apr 4Liked by Sherisa de Groot

Hi Sherisa! Thank you for opening up so candidly about yourself. I feel so seen and relate to many of the things you're sharing. Like the fact that, I too, want to become yoga certified but not really to teach. I also start lots of projects and because I'm a Gemini, I get bored easily and move on to the next thing rather quickly. But, I am committed to push through though, especially if someone else is relying on me. Ok, I could go on forever. But thanks for sharing and for making Raising Mothers what it is.

Expand full comment